Tags

, ,

The last day of NaPoWriMo…I am so proud to say that I made it, 30 poems in 30 days. I am actually proud as punch of myself because I wasn’t sure if I would make it! But I did eventually, and I’m so glad I participated.

It’s strange, but doing this challenge did not feel like a chore, or a way of forcing myself to write. Rather, it felt like setting my creative mind free, giving it reign to do what felt right for a month. It was a way of thinking in poetry, of watching out for moments that inspired something in me, and then scrambling for phone or paper to write it down to decipher later. This was a most enjoyable challenge, and if you are thinking of participating next year, go for it. Poet or not, it gives your imagination a free road for once, something I doubt very many of us do past the age of ten.

It has inspired me somewhat, to write more, to give myself more freedom, to stop restricting the daydreaming lover of words that exists in me. I hope that through this, I will be sharing more poetry and short stories with you before NaPoWriMo 2015. I would love to say that my last poem this year is a poignant and fabulous piece, but it’s the same old, I’m afraid.

It’s been emotional, folks. I hope you enjoyed it as much as I did. And now to my last NaPoWriMo 2014 contribution.

NaPoWriMo day 30

Dusk sinks into dark and brings with it
the soft patter of rain.
The death of the month is silent and swift
as always.
Looking closely, birds can be seen
settling in their nests for the night,
ready for the morning’s chorus.
The creatures of the dark stir and stretch
in the shadows, avoiding the rain as they can.
Moths replace butterflies,
cats flit from wall to bush,
glad of their mastery at seeing in the gloom.
The night closes around us like a blanket,
gets comfortable, arranges it’s velvet cloak
to watch until the dawn.
Silence creeps in, and sleep takes those of us
not nocturnal.
Peace holds the land,
for now. So sleep, sleep to dream.
And dream of May.