Tags

, , , ,

NaPoWriMo day 8

My heart breaks
with every cry she utters,
every mewl of unhappiness
cuts me.
The life of a mother is hard.

NaPoWriMo day 9

I curl into sheets warm with the cats fur,
bury my face into her purring
& for the moment that she allows
cuddle her,
before the claws come
as a warning,
not quite painful but guarding,
reminding me that there are
boundaries to being hers.
I shift to the side of her,
still breathing in her catiness
& we sleep in mutual agreement,
comraderie among cats.

NaPoWriMo day 10

Twists of my hair
caught by the wind
fly into my face
in the most irritating manner.
I pull strands
from the corners of my mouth
again,
& flick my fringe from my forehead.
The wind turns against me
once more tugging at my hair
& I sigh,
adjust as best I can
& keep walking. 

